Shalom to you all

Discuss general issues pertaining to the Catholic faith.

Moderator: Moderators

Thoma

Shalom to you all

Post by Thoma »

Shalom, I Have a little question and i hope its okay to ask it in this forum :
What is your stance regarding celibacy? is it still a way of life among modern catholics? do ordinary people beside clergyman and monks also chose this way of life? is it a legitimate way of life outside of the monestary?
to tell the truth im a jew, technically, i do not practice the jewish commandments. i feel that judaism cant get me near to god. I Studied about Judaism and also Islam, but both religions are too worldly, in the case of Judaism even somewhat a crude worldliness. (sanctification of the mundane). a religion that lacks celibacy is not a religion that i can connect to. so what do you think? is celibacy still hold a key element in catholic life?
Thanks! sorry if the question is irrelevant in this forum.
Hadassah
Please enter the fourth number in the list (eight): 0

Post by Hadassah »

Hi Thoma,

To me, it seems to be a great question! One of the moderators might want to address this in detail, but I think that it's important to think of chastity as the larger context for celibacy. All Catholics, even those who are married, are called to live chastely ~ that is with a proper and unselfish understanding of God's gift of sexuality. For unmarried Catholics (those who have taken religious vows as well as lay people) this necessarily includes celibacy, because sex only takes on its proper and God-given context between husband and wife.

Religious vows include a lifelong vow of celibacy. Some lay people consecrate themselves to the Lord by taking a lifelong vow of celibacy as well.

God bless,
Hadassah
Ariel
Site Admin

Post by Ariel »

topic moved to section: The Catholic Faith
“God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks to us in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: It is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world” C.S. Lewis
Athol